

World Council of Churches Central Committee

26 August – 2 September 2009 Geneva, Switzerland

Original

Document No. GEN/NOM 02 English

FOR INFORMATION to the Central Committee FOR ACTION by the Nominations Committee

Membership of Governing and Consultative Bodies

1. Central Committee

- a) Ms Chen Meilin has retired from the China Christian Council (CCC) and consequently resigned from the central committee. The church has put forward the name of Rev. Bao Jiayan, Associate General Secretary of the CCC, to replace Ms Chen on the central committee.
- b) Dr Nigussu Legesse of the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church has joined the WCC staff and thus automatically resigned his central committee member position. The church has put forward the name of Dr Agedew Redie, Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church, to replace Dr Legesse on the central committee.
- c) The Church of Norway has put forward the name of Rev. Kjetil Aano, General Secretary of the Church of Norway Council on Ecumenical and International Relations, to replace Rev. Ingrid Van Nilsen on the central committee.
- d) Rev. Dr Iteffa Gobena Molte, Ethiopian Evangelical Church Mekane Yesus, has retired. The church has put forward the name of Rev. Dr Idosa Wakseyoum Negeri, its current president, to replace Dr Gobena Molte on the central committee.

2. Permanent Committee on Consensus and Collaboration

a) Dr Nigussu Legesse of the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church has joined the WCC staff and thus automatically resigned his member position on the permanent committee.

According to Rule IX.2 the Orthodox members of the nominations committee of the central committee, in consultation with all Orthodox members of the central committee shall bring a proposal for nomination.

3. Assembly Planning Committee

Suggested actions:

- a) In the spirit of the recommendations of the Assembly Discernment Committee, the nominations committee recommends that the Assembly Planning Committee be constituted of 14 (fourteen) members of the WCC Central Committee and 10 (ten) representatives of ecumenical organizations.
- b) The nominations committee recommends that the following names, including two members of the Echos commission, be put forward for the Assembly Planning Committee.

- H.E. Metropolitan Prof. Dr. Gennadios of Sassima, *Ecumenical Patriarchate* (former ADC member)
- Rev. Heike Bosien, Evangelical Church in Germany, Würtemberg (former ADC member)
- Dr Magali Nascimento Cunha, Methodist Church in Brazil (former ADC member)
- Rev. Dr Paul Gardner, Moravian Church in Jamaica (former ADC member)
- Bishop Dr Isaac Mar Philoxenos, Mar Thoma Syrian Church of Malabar (former ADC member)
- Ms Alyson Jane Preston, Anglican Church of Australia (former ADC member)
- Ms Outi Vasko, Orthodox Church of Finland/SYNDESMOS World Fellowship of Orthodox Youth (former ADC member)
- H.E. Metropolitan Prof. Dr. Nifon of Targoviste, Romanian Orthodox Church
- Rev. Dr Moiseraele Prince Dibeela, United Congregational Church of Southern Africa
- Mrs Margarita Nelyubova, Russian Orthodox Church (Moscow Patriarchate)
- H.E. Metropolitan Mor Eustathius Matta Roham, Syrian Archdiocese of Jazirah and Euphrates
- Ms Hae-Sun Jung, Korean Methodist Church
- Mr Raymond Ranker, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (Echos Commission)
- Mr Chola Simwanza, The Salvation Army, Zambia (Echos Commission)
- c) Following the practice of the ADC and in line with its recommendations, the nominations committee recommends that the central committee instructs the general secretary to invite representatives of partner ecumenical organizations to the membership of the assembly planning committee (2 CWCs, 2 REOs, 2 Specialized Ministries, 1 NCC, 1 IEO, 1 RCC, 1 Pentecostal).

4. ECHOS – Commission on Youth in the Ecumenical Movement

Suggested action: Following Echos recommendation, the nominations committee recommends that the central committee:

- a) appoint Diana Fernandes dos Santos as moderator of Echos;
- b) appoint Iyabo Oyekola as vice-moderator of Echos;
- c) appoint as Echos commissioners, replacing the ones whose term has expired, ... (names to come from Echos Steering Committee during the CC), indicated by the churches and youth ecumenical organizations.

5. Continuation Committee

Suggested action: Following Echos' recommendation, the nominations committee recommends that the central committee appoint one young person to the continuation committee on ecumenism in the 21st century.

6. WCC Delegation for Edinburgh Centennial

Suggested action: Following Echos' recommendation, the nominations committee recommends that the central committee include in the WCC delegation to the Edinburgh Centennial Ms Anastasia Vassiliadou, Greece, Ms Clara Minoo Muthuka, Kenya, Ms Megan O'Callaghan, New Zealand and Ms Nayiri Baljian, Armenian Apostolic Church, USA (current young members of CWME) as well as the Mr Jec Borlado, Philippines (Echos) and Ms Adele Djomo Ngomedje, Cameroon/UK, former intern with CWME (current members of the Edinburgh 2010 youth reference committee).