

Postal address:P.O. Box 2100
CH-1211 Geneva 2
SwitzerlandVisiting address:150 route de Ferney
(+41-22) 791 61 11
Fax:Fax:(+41-22) 791 03 61
infowcc@wcc-coe.org
www.wcc-coe.org

Direct dial: (+41-22) 791.62.85 Direct e-mail: uz@wcc-coe.org Direct fax: (+41-22) 791.65.35 World Council of Churches Conseil œcuménique des Eglises Consejo Mundial de Iglesias Ökumenischer Rat der Kirchen

General Secretariat

To : WCC Member Churches Associate Councils Christian World Communions Regional Ecumenical Organizations Specialized Ministries International Ecumenical Organizations

Geneva, 7 April 2008

Re: Search for a new General Secretary

Dear friends, brothers and sisters in Christ,

The central committee of the World Council of Churches, meeting in Geneva (13 - 20 February 2008,) received with regret the decision of Rev. Dr Samuel Kobia not to seek a second term as General Secretary of the WCC. The central committee expressed its deep gratitude for all Rev. Dr Samuel Kobia has contributed to the life and work of the Council and, at the last session of the meeting, I had the opportunity to reiterate the heartfelt gratitude of the central committee for the services of Rev. Dr Samuel Kobia to the Council.

The central committee appointed an 18-member search committee, entrusted with the task of discerning the future leadership of the Council. The search committee for the new General Secretary of the WCC met for the first time on 19 February 2008, during the meeting of the central committee, and submitted the following time lines:

- a) Letter concerning the vacancy
- b) Consultation with WCC Staff
- c) First meeting of the search committee
- d) Job description

e) Deadline for applicationsf) Short listing of candidates

- g) Interviews
- h) Central committee

Following central committee (full job description to be released at a later date)

2 – 3 July 2008 9 – 10 July 2008 October 2008 (following approval by the executive committee, 23 – 26 September 2008)

mid-February 2009 April 2009 June 2009 August/September 2009 The present letter constitutes the very first step of the process as described in the above-mentioned task list. It is the formal announcement of the vacancy and a formal invitation to member churches and ecumenical partners to identify and recommend ecumenical leaders ready to present their candidature for the position of the General Secretary.

Attached is the "Draft Job Description", received by the central committee with the understanding that the search committee will work further on it and that its final version, approved by the executive committee, will be released in October 2008.

I would therefore like to kindly invite you to pray for the new journey that is ahead of us and to take an active part in it, accompanying and assisting the search committee. Indeed, you can play an active role in mobilizing ecclesial and ecumenical circles around you, convincing them to identify and encourage candidates to apply. You can directly make suggestions to the search committee for potential candidates who should be contacted and invited by the search committee. And, of course, you can identify your own candidates and offer them your support for the preparation and submission of their application.

In whatever way you would be ready to participate in the search process, you are kindly requested to get in touch with the moderator of the search committee:

Dr Agnes Abuom TAABCO P.O. Box 10488 KE-00100 Nairobi, Kenya

Tel: +254.20.271.26.98 Mobile: +254.721.948.813 Fax: +254.20.271.29.80 E-mail: <u>taabco@bidii.com</u>

All correspondence should be addressed to Dr Agnes Abuom who will also be ready to respond to your questions. You are kindly requested not to involve the Geneva based staff of the Council in this extremely sensitive and confidential process.

Many thanks in advance for your understanding and cooperation.

With my best wishes for the Easter season. May the Risen Lord strengthen our common witness to the world.

Rev. Dr Walter Altmann Moderator of the Central Committee

cc: Dr Agnes Abuom Moderator, Search Committee Members of the Central Committee